Anyone else feel dumb as a new attending?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WanderingBlast

Reaction score
First week on the job as a new attending at an academic center and I’m in a constant state of low-level anxiety because I feel incredibly stupid. I remember feeling like this before intern year and fellowship, but it’s scary to feel this way as a new attending. You feel like you should be more confident by now. I did a lot of research my 3rd year (at an academic center) and just came off of a month between fellowship and starting as an attending entirely so I feel like it’s been awhile since I was in the thick of clinical things. And that doesn’t help. I am studying for boards so I know that will help though. I guess it’s just the constant worry about lacking clinical expertise, having never independently steered the ship before. We didn’t have a fellows clinic so my entire fellowship was spent seeing patients rotating through other attendings’ clinics, which isn’t quite the same.

I guess I’m just wondering if other new attendings feel/felt like this at the outset.

Members don't see this ad.