Anyone here do the 5 year plan?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Msmouth

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
If I get into the dental school I want, they have a 5 year plan.
I am a non-traditional student with a young family. I would love to get it over with in 4 years but reality tells me that I should spread out year 1 and 2.

If you did this, how was your course load and were you able to juggle that with a part time job?

Members don't see this ad.

I've never heard of this. What school allows that?

Honestly, it sounds pretty ridiculous if you ask me. Thousands of people (many of whom have families) graduate from dental school every year and 99% of them did it in the normal 4 years. Why can't you? Why pay five years of tuition when you can pay four (not to mention the missed income as a result of being in school longer)?

I've never heard of this. What school allows that?

Honestly, it sounds pretty ridiculous if you ask me. Thousands of people (many of whom have families) graduate from dental school every year and 99% of them did it in the normal 4 years. Why can't you? Why pay five years of tuition when you can pay four (not to mention the missed income as a result of being in school longer)?

UMDNJ offers a 5 year program. They stretch out the first 2 years and the last 2 are the same as everyone else.
I'm not sure I can handle leaving the house at 7 AM and getting back around 7pm and still needing time to study each evening which leaves me no time for my kids.
I just have to think it over and see what would be best for me and my family. The tuition part would suck and so would the extra year but if it's the difference between skating by and doing well, I'm doing the latter.

Members don't see this ad :)