AOA internship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted9493

I'm a michigan resident and will be interviewing at msucom this coming tuesday. Since michigan is one of the states that requires an AOA approved internship to be licensed and since I plan on practicing in michigan, I have a few questions.
Does the internship year count as pgy-1 or is it separate? In other words, if I was to go into internal medicine, anesthesiology, or whatever....would I begin those residencies as a pgy-2 or as a pgy-1...having completed a one year AOA approved internship? Is the AOA approved internship equivocable to a preliminary or a transitional year? I appreciate any help you guys might be able to offer--I was unable to find what I wanted to know using the "search" function.

Members don't see this ad.

If you do an osteopathic residency, or some allopathic residencies, the transitional year is your 'intern' year. SOME allopathic residencies will not take this year as PGY-1, and, if you matched there, would require you to start over. One example I could think of is neurosurgery, where you would probably have to redo your PGY-1 year, if you matched, because these programs require a year of General Surgery internship...I am still relatively new to the process also, so forgive me if I misspeak. This should be 90-90% correct.

Members don't see this ad :)