AOA vs ACGME

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GreysHouse

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a pre-med student and I had a question about post-graduate training, specifically residencies.

I'm interested in osteopathic medicine and they've got their own set of boards (COMLEX) and their own certifying boards for various specialties.

So hypothetically, if an osteopathic student was interested in doing a general surgical residency, they could go to an AOA-approved or ACGME-approved program (and I guess dual approved programs, if available).

Is there really a difference between whether someone goes to an allopathic or osteopathic surgical residency program? Does the quality truly differ? In the end, you're eligible to sit for the boards: ABS for allopathic programs and the AOBS for osteopathic program. And just as an M.D. can earn the "FACS" after his/her name, a D.O. can earn the "FACOS" after their name as well.

It seems like it's a name game and there's this perception that M.D. training is better but in the end... a doctor is a doctor and our loyalties are to the patient.

But what do I know? I'm still an undergrad so any posts with your feedback, experiences, and what you've learned would be greatly appreciated! Merci beaucoup. :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

It is variable. There definitely are AOA residencies that are high quality, but there are others that aren't. And, yes, DOs can apply for ACGME residencies. In some specialties it is more difficult for DOs to get ACGME spots, though. (mostly surgical subspecialties and derm)

It is variable. There definitely are AOA residencies that are high quality, but there are others that aren't. And, yes, DOs can apply for ACGME residencies. In some specialties it is more difficult for DOs to get ACGME spots, though. (mostly surgical subspecialties and derm)