AP credits and prepharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tttaaa

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a high school student interested in pharmacy. I wondered if prepharmacy is the same as premed in the fact that the prerequisites can't be completed using AP credits.
1. Is it true?
2. Because prepharmacy coursework are extremely extensive (and variable), is it feasible to complete a major like biochemistry and still complete the prepharmacy coursework (assuming it can be applicable to many different pharmacy schools)?

Thanks everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

I would think it would depend on which school you apply to. I can't say for certain, but I would assume most pharmacy colleges would accept your AP credits. My university did, and I saved myself from taking 4 classes.

I started college with 41 hours from AP classes. At my college, they do count towards your pre-req's. I knocked out basically a year of pre-pharmacy before I stepped foot on campus. If you pull this off, you can either skip a year of pre-pharmacy or you can take a number of classes you're interested in that you would have otherwise not had room for.

I'm doing the 6-year pharmacy program (2 years pre-pharm and 4 years pharm), so I can't really help you with the other question.

Members don't see this ad :)
I went into my freshman year with 50 hours of credit, which was really nice, because, like someone else said, I was able to take other classes that interested me, and also a couple extra science classes that beef up my transcript for pharm school apps. A lot of schools do accept AP credits, but you should check out their policy on AP credit by either calling or looking at the website.

When you talk about schools accepting APs for prepharm prerequisites, do you mean pharmacy schools (and not your undergrad school)?