Applying to HKU and CUHK

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

c_h

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear everyone,

Please Help!!

I am an international student from HK currently studying in an university in the US. I'm about to finish my undergraduate degree in Biochem in the coming december. Over my undergraduate years, I found out what I really wanted to do is actually MEDICINE. Therefore, I am very interested to apply to the medical programs in HKU and CUHK upon my graduation. However, here comes the problem that my academic record is not that good at all.

My status is :
GPA 3.6 in a 1st tier University
TOEFL 267
GRE verbal 390/ math 780
experience: 2 years of research experience on medical microbiology. Currently a student hourly research assistant in a med micro lab. However, no volunteer record or record of working in a hospital.

Should I try to apply anyway or should I do a master and get a better GPA and some volunteer experience before I apply?

Do anyone of you know someone that was admitted to the med sch of CUHK and HKU as a degree holder applicant, what is his/her statistic?

I will be very appreciated if anyone would give me any advise on this!!! THX

Members don't see this ad.

hku told me that they give NO PREFERENCE to undergrad degree holders :thumbdown:

A friend of mine recently graduated from HKU medicine.

He did his high school in Canada. Did one year of undergrad in US with something like 3.8 average, and then applied to HKU.

There is an interview that lasts about 15 minutes.

It's a 5 year program, plus one year of internship. In US it's 4 years with no internship; you go straight to residency after internship.

Hope this helps

Members don't see this ad :)
ewon2004 said:
A friend of mine recently graduated from HKU medicine.

He did his high school in Canada. Did one year of undergrad in US with something like 3.8 average, and then applied to HKU.