Applying to Ortho

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

findingnemo13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am interested in applying to orthodontic residency and would like your thoughts on whether or not I would be a competitive applicant.

I graduated dental school five years ago w/ 3.76 GPA (ranked 15/130). I excelled clinically in dental school and was selected to work in the AEGD department during my fourth year. I completed a formal AEGD my fist year out of dental school and have spent the last five years practicing as an active duty Navy dentist. For the last three years, I have worked part time (26hrs/month) in a private practice practicing comprehensive dentistry (ortho, implants, etc.). I consider myself to be a good dentist and enjoy dentistry.

When I left dental school, I did not have an interest in orthodontics. Experience in ortho in school was very limited. I have no research experience from BS or DDS programs. In general, I do not consider myself to be a good standardized test taker so I'm worried about the GRE, ADAT, etc. I am concerned that my lack of ortho interest in dental school has cost me the ability to get good letters of recommendation from ortho faculty.

For the record, I will be separating from the military so I will be applying to civilian programs. Here are a few other questions:

1) Does my military service help/hurt my chances of admission?
2) What are the best programs for me to apply to given the circumstances?
3) Other than study, study, study, what other things could I do to enhance my application?
4) Are letters of recommendations from mentors in dental school/residency valuable if they are not orthodontists?

Thank you for your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users