Applying to pharm school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Allstate92

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm Ray and I currently serve in the U.S Navy in an active duty state, with that being said I have a lot of my pre-reqs completed aside from 2 chemistry classes. My concern is that most of my classes have been completed through online courses while on deployment at sea and being stationed overseas. If anyone has some insight on how to apply or if it matters at all I would greatly appreciate any knowledge on this matter. I was told from a couple of colleges it shouldn't matter and on my transcripts, they dont state that the classes were done online. Being a Florida resident my interest in schools are FAMU, UF, and Nova University. Thank you all in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I believe most of the schools in my state require labs and don't usually accept online science courses. You could check around with your schools of interest, however.

Best of luck to you!

The classes themselves should be okay to have taken online, but Docktor_dud3 is correct about the labs generally being required to be taken in person.

Since you have taken the classes already (and technically the labs), I would reach out to your local community college that offers those classes, and see about retaking the labs so that you have the in-person requirement.

Also, since just the labs (aside from your 2 chem classes you mentioned having to take), you could see about taking the labs over a summer or something like that so as to not impact your other classes if that is a concern for you.