Applying to vet school with TWO bachelor's degrees, how do they calculate GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreVetGirl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a senior undergrad and looking to apply to vet school within the next couple years. However with only a 3.1GPA currently and a maximum of 3.3 when I graduate, I'd like to make myself a more competitive candidate. I've thought about getting a masters degree but I've been looking at the acceptance rates for some programs and my GPA isnt competitive for that either. Soooooo, I was looking at my undergrad classes for the Animal Science degree I will be receiving in May and all I need is about a year's worth of classes to receive a second Bachelor's degree in Biomedical Science. A double major in BIMS/ANSC isn't offered but I can go back for a second degree.

My question is if I do decide to get a second bachelors degree, how will vet school calculate my overall GPA and my last 45hrs GPA? Does the overall count both degrees and the last 45 count only my last degree (if it gets to 45hrs)? Would vet school, CSU specifically, look favorable on someone who graduated with a not-so-competitive GPA yet significantly increased it when going back for a second degree? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

This is actually what I'm in the process of doing after speaking with a 4th year vet student doing a rotation in the vet hospital I work in. However, in my case it's because I'm changing careers altogether. I originally got an engineering degree and worked as an engineer for a few years before deciding it wasn't my thing. I'm not sure how it would look to go back for a second bachelor's back-to-back with your first, especially given that what you would be studying isn't all that different from what you already have.