Hopey123

2+ Year Member
Sep 3, 2015
Status
Medical Student
Hi, Im a worried 4th year student and would love to hear any advice I can get. I have some glaring deficiencies on my app. First and second year was going great (consistently scoring well above class mean) but during second semester 2nd year I went through a rough patch with my family. Happened right before an exam. Long story short I failed by one point, which counted as a fail for the entire block despite having an average well above the pass level (in the 90s) for the other two exams in that block. Fast forward a bit, with confidence shot, family probs still going on and having to remediate the exam during step 1 study period, I bombed and got a <220. Third year was ok about 50% honors (not in IM) but all evals were good. I decided to take an mph year and do research (not in IM) after third year. Which turned out to be more useful than expected because i decided to switch to IM. Throughout this and as 3rd year progressed, there was a lot of self evaluation and I learned how to separate the effect of home life on work. Step 2 i got a 260+. Recommendations should be strong, but with all of the red flags on my resume Im not sure how I will be perceived. I really would love to an opportunity for a fellowship (cards, GI are most exciting to me).
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

thanks everyone!

Last edited:

CatFactorial

7+ Year Member
Apr 21, 2011
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
It seems like you've caught your footing after the stumbles so you should probably be fine.

OP
H

Hopey123

2+ Year Member
Sep 3, 2015
Status
Medical Student