Are my chances to be a doctor over because of my IA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KnownBreakfast1985

Reaction score
Hey guys,

This is my first post on here and I'm only doing this because I feel like I have no other outlet/ place to ask for help.

Just for some background, l'm a senior right now at a T20 undergrad university (according to US News so take that as you wish). I'm studying Sports Medicine, Biochemistry, and Statistics. I have a 3.96 overall GPA (B+ in Orgo I/II and a W for Orgo II during the summer, the rest are all A’s) 514 MCAT, as well as 5 publications, good research in a cancer lab, clinical research, ~ 60 hours of shadowing, etc. I applied this last cycle to 25-27 MD schools and so far gotten zero interviews with only 7 schools left (but l've pretty much lost all hope with these as well considering how late in the cycle it is). I am studying right now to retake my MCAT in May because I feel like that is one thing I can try and improve on, but I’m not sure if it’s even worth it as I think more and more about it. This year, I plan on taking a gap year working as a Medical Assistant full-time, so I’m hoping this improves the clinical experience section of my application.