Are pharmacists required to complete a residency/internship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MacGyver

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm having a debate with someone else. He claims that ALL pharmacists MUST complete an internship before they can practice.

is this right or wrong?

Members don't see this ad.

Wrong...if he means residency ;)

Pharmacists need not complete a residency to practice in retail...not even really to become a staff pharmacist in a hospital (although a 1 year "pharmacy practice" residency is recommended in this case).

Residencies are a must to practice "clinical pharmacy" at a hospital.

BUT, if he means "internship" as in intern clerkships or rotations, yes...to graduate I need to do internships at retail and hospital pharmacies (required to graduate and sit for boards and subsequent licensure)...I'm also a paid intern pharmacist at a hospital in my spare time, while going to pharm school.

LVpharm,

the internships you speak of are done DURING pharm school right (included as part of the 4 years)?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes. In my case (3 year program), I do internships (as part of the curriculum) during the school year of the 1st and 2nd year, the summers (full time at retail/hospital pharmacy) of my 1st and 2nd year, then an "advanced pharmacy practice" internship (mostly clinical) most of my 3rd year.

All "internships" are done during pharm school, unpaid (at least outside of California)

At my school, they have practicums every semester, which is basically doing community pharmacy work. They change to clerkships at the end of the 3rd year, which are the actual internship rotations. By the 4th year, that's all you're doing. That also includes the summer semester in between the 3rd and 4th year.