Art History

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

El Nino

Attending
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, ok I know you guys are probably sick of "what should I major in?" type post however, I am in a dilemma. Art History is an fascinating discipline and something I am interesting in but, how are Art History majors viewed by adcoms and med schools? I dont want it to seem "oh he majored in something easy". If, I majored in Art history it would definitely make me an unique (compared to all the other heavy science majors) and well-rounded applicant but, how would it help me?

Yes, I have searched the forums and learned of all the non-science majors who have been sucessful in medical school. However, never heard of an Art history major's success story.

Any art history majors (who are currently pre meds or med students) out there have any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Art?

Oh, art history. It's reputable. :D

For reasons that I can only speculate on, statistically fine arts majors have the greatest %age success in getting into med school (a greater percentage get in than bio majors or other humanities majors).

Statistically, that's what I've read anyway.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am an art history major. If you love it...go for it.

Ok, ok I know you guys are probably sick of "what should I major in?" type post however, I am in a dilemma. Art History is an fascinating discipline and something I am interesting in but, how are Art History majors viewed by adcoms and med schools? I dont want it to seem "oh he majored in something easy". If, I majored in Art history it would definitely make me an unique (compared to all the other heavy science majors) and well-rounded applicant but, how would it help me?

Yes, I have searched the forums and learned of all the non-science majors who have been sucessful in medical school. However, never heard of an Art history major's success story.