As it turns out, hard work doesn't pay off

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hard Work Pays Off

Leo the Lion says Ger
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
well folks, I took the DAT, didn't do so hot. A little background, I am yet to take orgo II and English is my second language and I make a mean pasta dish, so I hope all these wonderful qualities would get me into dental school.
On a serious note, the test sucked, I was not prepared for how specific it was and PAT killed every ounce of joy I had left, speaking of ounces, there was a question about a Kg, a pound and an oz and you had to make them all add up, somehow??
so yeah, study hard kids, good luck, I hope you all will do amazing, for me I studied a lot and very hard but my brain was like a brick and the information was moisturizer, it just didn't work out for me.
BIO 20- a lot of questions about trimesters for some reason?? like what develops at a certain trimester and such and they basically went ham on the hardy-weinburg
Gen chem 18- balancing the world's strangest redox reaction, did it 3 times, none were the answer choice xD
Orgo 18- find the most obscure reaction that literally no one finds important, and study at least 3 of those. no SN1 E2, no alkene stuff, no fun alkyne synthesis literally just one aldol and a bunch of weird stuff
PAT 16- that one time I filled my water cup with soda at a fast food restaurant, yeah God remembered that. seriously don't take this section lightly like I did, do all of bootcamp and then some
QR 16- ran out of time and picked C for everything, then again I spent like 3 days studying for QR because of the whole not taking orgo II thing
RC 20- wooo, ESL who? I am kind of proud of that one, I learned English literally 7 years ago so I'm pleased
GPA: 3.4
EC: research in a lab 600
research at a dental school 2 years
teaching elementary school math 2 years
Red cross volunteering 1 year
shadowing 100 hrs