Asking for Letter of recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Oh_Gee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I graduated June 2014 and now it's February and I decided (probably way too late) to ask for LoRs. I emailed 2 science and 1 non science professors to ask them if I could meet up with them to discuss it on campus. The non science prof got back to me in less than a day and agreed to a meeting (great guy, took him for 5 classes). However, my 2 science professors haven't gotten back to me yet. It's been a week so far. If they were on vacation or sabbatical, I'm sure I would get an automatic reply from the school email system telling me that they are away.

Possibilities
1. They saw it and are ignoring me
2. It went in their junk mail (unlikely I think)
3. They accidentally deleted it (I do this all the time with my work email because I select all new emails and uncheck the important ones and hit delete)
4. They are on vacation and didn't set the automatic reply (unlikely, these guys are professionals and one of them is a PI)

So what do you guys think? Should I call them or email them again? One has their lab phone listed on the website and the other has a phone number on his website (he doesn't have his own lab so I'm not sure if it's his personal phone or not). if they are ignoring my email, I feel like they'll get mad if I call them.

I'm really set on asking these 2 professors because I went to their office hours a lot. I genuinely enjoyed talking to them because they were hilarious but I made the mistake of not keeping in touch with them after I finished their class. I didn't talk to any other science professors because of how cold they were. I took Prof A's class 2 years ago and Prof B's class last year.

Members don't see this ad.