ASL Major + Premed. Thoughts? Experiences? Insights? Stories? Anything!?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

curlyafroonaps

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! So I have a situation and I am not exactly sure what to do.
I'm going to graduate this year out of high school and looking forward to college...ahh, and that pre-med "life".
I am currently a new beginner in American Sign Language. I discovered this beautiful language last year but didn't know how to get started. Well, this year I asked around and met some teachers who knew ASL, and got introduced to some really cool websites. So my friends and I decided to start an ASL club. We love the idea of signing (the little signs we know, although our signing vocab is growing), attending deaf socials (even if we know very little signs), and the deaf culture.

Originally, my college major plan had been Cellular Biology because it would fulfill all my medical school prerequisites and better prepare me for the MCAT. Well, I've been doing some research and it turns out, and I'm sure many of you already know this (I'm just late), that majoring in a non-science major won't put you at a disadvantage when it comes to the MCAT just as majoring in a science major won't give you the upper advantage. (well, except for those biomedical engineers...)

Don't get me wrong, I love science and I do enjoy it.
But the general idea I get from a lot of these forums and premed websites is to major in something that you will love EVERYDAY, and that will challenge you, reward you, ignite passion in you, excite you, etc. For some people, that is Neuroscience or Molecular Biology or Prestidigitation. For me, I think that is going to be ASL.
I've just never met a pre-med ASL major, and was hoping I could meet people like this and so they can share their stories?