Nontrad: Strong MCAT, weak GPA, varied life experiences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agetker

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a nontraditional student planning to apply both MD and DO this cycle. I have a bad GPA, and I am not sure how possible it is to overcome it.

sGPA: 3.1
cGPA: 3.3
MCAT: 516
Graduate certification in Medical Microbiology with 3.8 GPA (15 credits)
Disadvantaged, ORM, 27 years old.

Excuse my inexact hours listed, the AAMC website is down at the moment.

Thousands of non-science work hours. (Many jobs from age 16 and up, ranging from retail to bartending to editorial work for a scientific website)
Thousands of research work hours. (Cancer research, histopathology; toxicogenomics)
Hundreds of research volunteer hours. (Undergraduate neurology biomedical engineering, one publication acknowledgment)
Hundreds of nonclinical service volunteer hours. (Literacy program for disadvantaged students, American Cancer Society, Meals on Wheels)
~200-400 medical work hours. (Sterile processing/surgical support, kicker: no direct patient contact, operating room prep/coordinating)
Beginning shadowing June 1, likely 60ish hours of surgical shadowing by secondary submissions.
5 strong letters (Research (work), Research (volunteer), Research PI (work), Professor of Molecular Bio, Service Coordinator)
1 hopeful letter (Surgeon I will be shadowing)