Athabasca degree or individual courses for US MD schools prereqs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aftaab_md

Reaction score
Hello,

Canadian here. I was thinking of taking Athabasca online courses to fulfill US MD schools pre reqs ( biology , org chemistry labs, .... ) . Also since i have a foreign degree, lots of MD schools in US asks atleast 45-60 credits of work from US or Canada schools.

My question was is Athabasca online courses accepted for US MD schools ? if so is it easy get a good GPA in this courses ? I want to take around 30 credits and get good GPA for AMCAS GPA calculation. Or any other suggestion to get pre reqs for MD schools from canada ?

Members don't see this ad.

Which schools are you looking at, Canadian or US? Technically I don't see it being a problem for AMCAS, but I don't know if this would raise questions for committees. We would need to look at your syllabus.

Check the schools to make sure you don't tell American committees you want to attend Canadian programs, which would be a presumption.

Reactions: 1 user
Which schools are you looking at, Canadian or US? Technically I don't see it being a problem for AMCAS, but I don't know if this would raise questions for committees. We would need to look at your syllabus.

Check the schools to make sure you don't tell American committees you want to attend Canadian programs, which would be a presumption.
Thanks for the response. I am looking for US med schools. I didnt get your logic on why not to tell American committees i want to attend canadian programs, assuming you mean canadian med schools or canadian Athabasca university for credits?

@Mr.Smile12

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)