Aus to NZ

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

raymdc89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a final year student at an Australian MBBS program.

I am also an international student (Canada).

I'm sure everyone knows about the whole internship issue.

Just wondering if anyone out there has any info about the possibility of an int'l student from an Australian university coming over to NZ for internship.

Only problem I seem to be seeing at the moment is that NZ internships start in late November, and my graduation date is mid-December... At least the graduation 'ceremony', will have to speak to my medical school about how I might be able to arrange something if I'm serious about applying to NZ. That, or I'll have to wait a year, which I'm not sure as to whether that'll make me less favorable as an applicant.

Anyone heard of stories of how Australians have gone over to NZ for post-grad? It sounds like it's more common that it happens in the other direction due to, apparently, bad wages in New Zealand.

But with my situation, I have to reach out in case I end up jobless here in Australia.

Anyone know whether NZ is keen on taking advantage of that 'tsunami' of students spilling over just across the Tasman Sea?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

First and foremost you need a job offer and a work visa; check www.immigration.govt.nz and with the applicable DHBs (District Health Boards)

As far as medical registration I am fairly certain automatically; to be sure check with the Medical Council www.mcnz.org.nz

Salary for a first year House Officer is about $70,000 + overtime, you're better off money wise staying in Australia where I hear from my contacts the pay is closer to double.