erg923

Regional Clinical Officer, Centene Corporation
10+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2007
Louisville, KY
Status
Psychologist
Is there any document that has the "average" Ph.D funding stipend. Maybe at least a range for "fully funded" programs?

10-15 years ago I want to say an "average" might have been around 20k?

acclivity

SDN Bronze Donor
Bronze Donor
7+ Year Member
Aug 26, 2011
USA
Status
Psychology Student
Is there any document that has the "average" Ph.D funding stipend. Maybe at least a range for "fully funded" programs?

Could you modify this to make it into a poll?

futureapppsy2

Assistant professor
Gold Donor
10+ Year Member
Dec 25, 2008
I graduated in 2016, and my stipend was $20k a year, not including funding for two conferences a year. A year or two ago, the stipends went up to $25k a year, IIRC.

MamaPhD

Psychologist, Academic Medical Center
7+ Year Member
Aug 2, 2010
Status
Psychologist
Mine (within that time period of 10-15 years ago) was a little under 20K. I don't recall the exact amount.

AcronymAllergy

Neuropsychologist
Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
Jan 7, 2010
Status
Psychologist
No clue what they're at now, but I'd be interested to see if there's a survey somewhere as well. I'd imagine upper-teens to low-20's would be a good guess. Mine ranged from low- to upper-teens from 10-15 years ago, depending on whether it was TA, RA, or clinical practicum funding.

Fan_of_Meehl

5+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2014
Status
Psychologist

When I was in grad school in the mid-late 90s they paid us a around 11k/yr. (or maybe it was 9k) and I remember some fellow grad students did some investigation into food stamps and other forms of welfare only to discover that our stipend placed us *just barely above* the level that would allow us to apply for food stamps and other forms of assistance. So I would imagine that the formula of 1.01 x [income that would qualify for food stamp assistance in your state] would be a good guess.

szymk1sm

7+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2011