Avoid Military Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

navysurgeon

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I get out in a month.

It'll be the happiest days of my life.

Well, second only to the day I matched in plastics.

TNS

Members don't see this ad.

navysurgeon said:
I get out in a month.

TNS

Congratulations!!!!

navysurgeon said:
I get out in a month.

TNS

AMEN to that...and congrats!!!! AWESOME!!!

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a sucker USUHS grad stuck on this sinking ship until 2014.

To all of you out there trying to decide whether or not to join, read NavySurgeons words carefully. Like 90% of all active duty docs in my dept, he can't wait to get out. In other words, they can't wait to be civilians like you! So, those of you that are civilians, stay that way and you will be glad you did.

Student loans are cheap. DO NOT JOIN THE MILITARY FOR FINANCIAL REASONS!!!!! It is not worth it.

You guys are sooo wrong.

Military medicine is AWESOME! You get to do all kinds of cool stuff which have nothing to do with medicine. It's a blast to have studied so hard to get in medical school, make it thru school, make it thru residency and now not even have to worry about all those pesky medical issues.

Hoorah! :smuggrin:

Note:
having rotated and know MDs at penn, penn state, UIC, and four other less known programs, I can tell you that most of those civilian docs are also always complaining and CAN NOT WAIT TO GET OUT OF WORK..
In fact, in IL in the last year I know three physicians that joined the military cause they got sick of the ins crap and two others that retired early (even through they had to pay their ins tail (tens of thousands of dollars)..

All I am trying to say, is just imagine for once that the grass just might not be any greener on the other side..

A.