"B" nightmare! Advice Needed.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Albo

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, i am a pre pharmacy student who just became a junior and at this level i have a overall gpa of 3.45 . I really want to get into one of michigan school but my position is not very promising. I have no idea but when it come to science classes it seems like i can not get anything better than a B. Other classes i have A, as for the requirements i have A in most of the non science classes. How will this look, am i gonna have any chance? I know it depend on my PCAT score and other things but someone tell me how my grades look.

General Chemistry 1 B
General Chemistry 2 B+
Organic Chem B- (summer class)
Organic Chem 2 W (summer class) B (Winter)
General Biology 1 B
General Biology 2 B+
Pre Calculus A
Calculus 1 A-
Calculus 2 B+
Physics 1 B+
PHysicis 2 B+

Members don't see this ad.

u should be fine, I had an overall of 3.46 when I got in. My science GPA was a about a 3.6 or so and I also had an 87 PCAT. Just make sure you do alright on the PCAT and murder the interview to give yourself a great shot of getting in. Are you a Michigan resident?

That is tough, few A's but at least no C's. Your GPA is a bit low in the sciences it will be tough to get in with 3.1 or 3.2 or whatever that averages out to. The only advice I can give is what has been said around here before: pharmacy experience, great PCAT, and to do well in classes next year. Your other A's should help depending on if the school concentrates on pre-req GPA or overall GPA and what they consider pre-reqs.

Members don't see this ad :)
A year before I applied, my pharmCAS GPA would have looked like this.

Non-science GPA - 4.00 (I'm an econ major BTW, I have LOTS of non-science courses, so this wasn't just because of a couple of easy GE's)

Science GPA - 2.97 (mainly due to physics and calculus)

Then I worked really hard and brought my GPA up