Ba/md

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aroen

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a high school student, and I'm just wondering what are some good things to have for a BA/MD program, also does anyone have any recommendations on which programs are nice or bad, and which ones are hard or easy to get into (realizing that this is comparative)

Members don't see this ad.

Tons of schools have programs that lead into matriculation at their medical school...a lot of schools use it to attract students to the undergrad program. The harder the medical school is to get into, the harder the program would be.

So Northwestern has one that's damn near impossible to get into (50/2000 or something)...but St. Louis University has one that's not that bad.

As for getting into them--stellar grades, stellar ACT/SAT...and tons of service are your three best bets (the idea being that medicine is a "profession of service" lends to this idea). Volunteering in a clinical setting is a plus (find a local free clinic and see what you can do there). Mostly, though, these schools are assessing the risk of you becoming somebody they wouldn't want to take anyway in college--so high GPA and high standardized scores would rule supreme I'd imagine.