Bachelor or pre-req's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I just take my pre-req's or finish the degree?

• Just take pre-req's

Votes: 17 48.6%
  • Finish the degree

Votes: 18 51.4%

• Total voters

Tenor CS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I tried searching for this, but didn't find anything specific to my situation.

I have a master's degree in music - opera, specifically. I taught for several years and am planning to pursue a career in pharmacy. I am currently working as a pharmacy tech and enjoying it, for the most part.

I start my Molecular and Microbiology program at University of Central Florida in a few weeks. Should I just do the classes I need to satisfy my pre-req's and get out ASAP? Or should I finish the M&M degree and THEN apply to Pharm school?

Right now, based on my first Bachelor's degree, I have a 3.8-something coming in to UCF.

It would pretty much take me a full 4 years to finish the M&M degree. I'm 35 and married.

Pros of pre-req only:

• finish faster
  • lower cost
Pros of finishing M&M

• I will have a stronger science background before starting pharm school
  • AdComs might consider me more seriously - guy with a science degree vs. "failed musician who took a bunch of pre-req's"

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all. I tried searching for this, but didn't find anything specific to my situation.

I have a master's degree in music - opera, specifically. I taught for several years and am planning to pursue a career in pharmacy. I am currently working as a pharmacy tech and enjoying it, for the most part.

I start my Molecular and Microbiology program at University of Central Florida in a few weeks. Should I just do the classes I need to satisfy my pre-req's and get out ASAP? Or should I finish the M&M degree and THEN apply to Pharm school?

Right now, based on my first Bachelor's degree, I have a 3.8-something coming in to UCF.