Banfield ok for a new grad wanting mentorship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Annamalita

DVM 2019
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have heard and read so many negatives about working for Banfield. I want to get a conversation started in hopes that someone will be able to speak about good aspects of it, in particular, regarding their mentoring program.

I am a new graduate and I am really nervous about practicing without a strong mentorship environment. I really like the structured mentor program Banfield offers. I feel as though many private practices may say they will mentor you but then they don't have the time or the resources to spend paying you a full doctor's salary and then you not pulling your weight by doing a "full doctor's worth". I just feel so pessimistic that I will not be able to find a private practice that will want to hire a new grad who wants involved mentorship.

I heard from a Banfield representative that the first year there they want you to focus on learning, not on production and they don't expect you to make production the first year even. I just really like how Banfield looks on paper (great salary, 401K, great vacation etc) but I have only heard overwhelmingly bad things about them which makes me wonder even more why their reviews are so bad. I have heard/read about a handful of people who enjoy working for them, one of which is also a recent grad who appreciated the mentorship they provided.

Thanks guys

Members don't see this ad.

but I have only heard overwhelmingly bad things about them which makes me wonder even more why their reviews are so bad.
That's all dependant on what you want and what you're willing to "pay" to get it. If you want their mentoring program, you might have to put up with corporate oversight and some other issues to get it.

Reactions: 1 user