Barely passed STEP I, and I want to become an OB/GYN.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

figpips

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Apologies in advance if this is in the wrong forum, but I am a current third year student hoping to apply to OB/GYN residencies. I received my STEP score one week ago, and barely passed. I made a 200. It shocks me, and yet it doesn't surprise me, because although I was in the 220s-230s range on practice exams and averaged an 80% on UWorld (timed), my scores tend to suffer on the real deal (same with my MCAT).

...I'm not quite sure where to go from here. I had a B average during pre-clinical years, had some posters/presentations (4) from summer research (not in the OB/GYN field)... I haven't done my OB/GYN rotation yet, but I absolutely love my third year so far; I get a feel that my patients enjoy having me as part of their team of providers, and I have received positive comments from my attendings and residents. I worked incredibly hard on some organizations during my pre-clinical years that were also passion projects, and continue to help out as a third year when I can. Those organizations are related to OB/GYN issues. I also helped create an OB/GYN-related elective (electives are student-run at our school) that is available for first and second year students.

I just...I don't know what to do. I find it hard to chock it all up to test anxiety, because this mostly started in medical school. I have had problems with depression and anxiety in the past, and I think those issues finally bubbled over during my studying. I just...I remember this happening during my MCAT, and the vicious cycle of depression and defeat that colored my medical school interview cycle. I somehow received an offer from a top 20 US medical school, which I accepted.