Basic Ophthalmology vs Wills manual for MS4

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Feyer Feyeter

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an MS4 student currently doing a year of research, but looking to get a jump on my ophtho rotation coming up this spring. I've heard that Basic Ophtho and Wills are good texts for med students. Anyone have any experience with one or the other or any rec's for addition texts that I should read between now and then? Would it be worth reading both of them, or would my time be better served sticking to one and supplementing with something else? Thanks in advance for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an MS4 that is just finishing up the application cycle. I am not sure what your level of ophthalmology knowledge is and I don't know anything about Basic Ophthalmology, but I have the following recommendations:

- For the beginner - www.ophthobook.com is a great broad stroke overview in simple, easy to understand language.

-For the rotator - Wills is a great book to have while rotating and to consult on those unusual cases. As for a book to help build clinical knowledge, it can be a little tricky if you aren't familiar with the lingo... i liken it to putting your mouth to a fire hydrant. Instead I would recommend reading Practical Ophthalmology: A Manual for the Beginning Resident, as this really nicely outlines the exam technique. A nice book for building up the clinical knowledge part would be Ophthalmology Review Manual Ed 2 by Dr. Chern, which is kind of like the Goljan of ophthalmology path. I tried reading Yanoff's Ophthalmology book which was good but very dense and time intensive... I might take another stab at it after I finish Dr. Chern's book.