BCOM vs Touro-NY Middletown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunflwr

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I need some help deciding on which school to potentially attend. For some context, I am a Californian resident hoping to practice Family Medicine or Internal medicine in California or Texas. I have a deep love and appreciation for the West Coast due to its diversity, climate, and being that my entire support system resides here. Wherever I attend medical school, my goal would be to practice medicine here. Some pros and cons I've listed out for both schools:

Touro-NY Middletown
Pros
  • More established (2014), has a pretty solid method of teaching students to yield high results
  • Good match rate (95% last yr) and okay board exams pass rate (94% last yr)
  • Seems they are more well known and have a higher reputation
Cons
  • Weather. Even during the California winter season, my mood slips often and I have fallen into seasonal depression. I can only imagine what that would look like in an area that experiences snow storms quite often. (I've also never seen or been near snow lol).
  • Cost of living is extremely expensive in the Middletown area
  • Area, seems a bit bleak beyond nice hiking spots.

BCOM
Pros
  • Noted that they have a GME Placement rate of 100% as of last yr.
  • Affordable living, nice area, good climate
  • Several and a diverse set of research opportunities
  • Many CA students attend
  • High residency placements in CA & TX
Cons
  • Newer school, students have expressed that admin and staff are still navigating grounding the most optimal teaching style for students
  • Not as well known
  • Facility looks small and has most campus amenities on the New Mexico State Campus.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.