Becoming a Physician Assistant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nbar

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So,

This whole SDN thing is new to me so I'm not too sure how it works. Currently, I am a general science pre-med student at Oregon State University. When I graduate, I will have my bachelors of science in General Science with three minors in Spanish, Chemistry and Psychology. I am fully aware that I need to obtain medical hours, but I am sort of stuck. I would like to become a surgical tech to obtain those hours, but that would require more schooling right out of a bachelors that I cant afford. So my first question is; "Is it worth going to school to be a surgical tech or would the hours as an EMT or a Medical Scribe be just as beneficial?

Members don't see this ad.

Scribe would be my choice out of those options.

Reactions: 1 user
Thank you. Another question I have; I have a middle of the road GPA, a 3.5, and I was wondering if the additional minors atop of my Bachelors would strengthen my admittance to a PA school?

Members don't see this ad :)
So,

This whole SDN thing is new to me so I'm not too sure how it works.

Okay, this is how it works. You type your thoughts, then click, "Post." Most of the time, not much will happen. You may get some responses, some helpful, many of them not. Occasionally, you'll get an absolute gem of a response that could be life changing, mixed in with the garbage posts. At some point you will be accused of trolling or posting as a Russian double-agent, foreign spy or something like that. Don't be alarmed. It's normal.

Welcome aboard.

Reactions: 1 users