This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loveforscience64

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a non-traditional student and I am looking to make a career change. I was looking into CRNA until I was introduced to AA and it seems to be a better fit my needs. I don’t have any debt and I am currently taking the prerequisites at a local university. Since I have already obtained a degree it would take me longer to be a nurse anesthesiologist than it would a anesthesiologist assistant and I am an older applicant. Being called an “assistant” does not bother me at all and I could care less about egos. I am aware that anesthesiologist assistants have a limitation of states they are allowed to practice in but this does not bother me since I was already interested in relocating to a few of those states anyway. I know anesthesiologist assistants get a lot of push back from nurse anesthesiologist but I don’t see why they can’t work together and be respectful towards each other. Would it be better for me financially to go to AA school or should I consider CRNA school? I am working as a phlebotomist and it seems like a hassle for me to get another bachelors, gain icu experience, and apply to CRNA school. I would like to get some good advice without any bashing or disrespect towards either profession!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: