Becoming an EMT - Is it worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bledyn

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
A few months ago I started volunteering at the ER of a hospital in Chicago. I have formed some friendships with the nurses / paramedics / and EMTs who work there, and some have recommend becoming an EMT (the EMT, surprisingly, is quite the champion of it) while others don't think it will give me an edge in my med school application. What's the truth? And what are the good EMT schools in Chicago?

Members don't see this ad.

ok, here's my input.

I've been an EMT for over a year now and absolutely love it. It's great exposure to a part of medicine that you wouldn't otherwise experience until your 3rd year of med school. That being said, a lot of students are doing EMT because it "looks good on the app". If you're going to go through the training, make sure to use it by either joining or volunteering with a service somewhere. Just my 0.02 though.

Bledyn said:
A few months ago I started volunteering at the ER of a hospital in Chicago. I have formed some friendships with the nurses / paramedics / and EMTs who work there, and some have recommend becoming an EMT (the EMT, surprisingly, is quite the champion of it) while others don't think it will give me an edge in my med school application. What's the truth? And what are the good EMT schools in Chicago?