Being a competitive applicant for clinical psychology PhD or PsyD programs, how?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zeraldaviperia

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior level transfer student at University of California Davis this is my second quarter I usually earn around a 3.5 GPA. I am extremely interested in clinical psychology and considering going for a PhD or PsyD. I am thinking more likely the second because I am more interested in working in a clinical than an academic setting but I do enjoy research. What do I need to do to be competitive? I have done some research on graduate schools and it looks like most applicants have a better chance of being abducted by aliens than getting into a good PhD or PsyD program! I have heard high GRE scores, letters of recommendation from high ranking professors, published works, clinical work experience, research experience or original research can make or break an application. I have none of these things, yet. I am already in the process of applying for summer research assistant positions and attempting to build relationships with my professors. What should I do now to become a stronger applicant?

Thanks for your advice!:)

Members don't see this ad.