Being bullied at dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

toothfairy900

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year DDS student. Has anyone suffered from cliques in their class? I once belonged to this clique of about 10 guys and girls; everything started well and everybody was hanging out outside the class, helping each other with school, and just simply being friends. Slowly there emerged a "Queen Bee" who seems to be planning everything and loved to be surrounded by followers. Personally I'm a really chill girl - I'm not very strong-opinionated nor judgmental. That gives me the ability to hangout with many people, male or female, that's if they are good people with good intentions. As a result, I have accumulated some friends throughout the class. For some reason, this "Queen Bee" finds that intolerable and started spreading rumors about me. She used the word "Slutty" about me, and told people that I was calling her "bitchy" and another girl in the group "stupid." First of all, none of those words would ever come out of my mouth - I found these words extremely immature and unfitting for a professional school environment. Secondly, I came to dental school to learn how to be a dentist, and having such strong emotional feeling towards any classmate, whether love or hate, has never been my primary focus. I have no reason to call anyone that simply because I'm not here to do so. She rallied 3 other girls and it seems to me that "hating on me" is some kind of common interest that would entertain them on a daily basis and somehow bind them closer as a group. And then they started inviting the whole group to restaurants and events and purposely left me out, then they started a new Facebook chat so that I would be excommunicated. A couple friends in the group saw something wrong and defended me. They would hang out with me outside of the group which is very comforting. Some of them said that