Below Average Med Student: Kaplan or Non-Traditional Review. Please Advise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedStudent1985

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I represent the substantial minority of people who read this forum but rarely post. A few details about me and on to my step 1 question: I currently attend a state school in the midwest. As I graduated as an economics major with little science background, I am substantially below the mean of my class yet have failed no courses. In fact, my performance increased linearly throughout my first year which I just completed. (BTW 30 MCAT)

That being said, I would like to do the best I possibly can on Step I. I recently bought the following books:

First Aid
Rapid Review Pathology and Biochemistry
BRS Physiology
High Yield Embryo, Immunology
Microbiology made ridiculously easy

That being said, I hear many things about the Kaplan Home Study and Lectures being better while I originally purchased the above books due to advice I received on this forum. My main question is : What is more beneficial and user friendly to me as a student who struggled, kaplan or reviews mentioned above?

I appreciate greatly the advice that I get from the bright future doctors that post on this forum, I hope you will help me out, and I wish you the best.

-E

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I represent the substantial minority of people who read this forum but rarely post. A few details about me and on to my step 1 question: I currently attend a state school in the midwest. As I graduated as an economics major with little science background, I am substantially below the mean of my class yet have failed no courses. In fact, my performance increased linearly throughout my first year which I just completed. (BTW 30 MCAT)

That being said, I would like to do the best I possibly can on Step I. I recently bought the following books:

First Aid