Best field for a JD to pursue?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xxx2012

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my third year of law school to get my JD (Juris Doctor) but am finding out that law (shocking) sucks. I want to look into medical fields but am not sure which field would be best with my current degree.

It is worth mentioning also that my undergrad was from a DETC school (although my JD is regional and ABA) and my overall GPA in both is around 2.5 with business major (so I don't have a lot of science credits)

I know there are a lot of different types of medical degrees out there and was hoping to get opinions and suggestions. Thanks guys.

Members don't see this ad.

Go volunteer in a hospital or clinic to find out what the different jobs are, and to find out what you can put up with.

Distance Ed: yes it's a problem, for anything competitive like MD/DO/PA.

2.5 in Distance Ed: big problem.

Best of luck to you.

Members don't see this ad :)
Sounds like you're not really into the medical field but just want to try something new. Unfortunately, the medical field is highly competitive and has a system in place to weed out people that are not serious. Since you're not even close to knowing what you want to do, I suggest you look into the different fields (nursing, respiratory therapy, clinical nutrition, medicine, physician assistant, perfusionist, etc.) through YouTube or Google. When you narrow down what you might like down to 2 or 3 options, you should try to volunteer and shadow in that field. Go from there. Note that any of these fields will like take 3+ years BEFORE you can start schooling due to your non-science/low-GPA background.

Good luck.

I am in my third year of law school to get my JD (Juris Doctor) but am finding out that law (shocking) sucks. I want to look into medical fields but am not sure which field would be best with my current degree.