Best FL Tests?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joshto

Nervous&Neurotic
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I studied for the MCAT about 18 months ago, completing AMCAS FL #3-10. I am retaking the exam in a few months; in your opinion, will these tests still be useful? if not, what are some other good FL, other than the AAMC?

Members don't see this ad.

Since it was long ago, you could probably retake the exams if you still have them available to you.

Kaplan and TPR would probably be your next best source of full length exams though I believe you have to purchase the entire course to have access to them.

There are other sources of FL MCAT exams, but they are generally not as good as the ones mentioned above.

Gold Standard and Berkeley Review are your best bets. I don't recommend retaking FLs.

Here's my long explanation of why I'm against it:

Should I retake FL X?

I don't suggest it for a few reasons. First, your score will be inflated. This alone negates the predictive power of the test. If you don't need it to gauge where you are, fine, retake them. For instance, you could simply be going over the problems again to, as others have mentioned, understand the thinking behind it. However, if you are using it as a practice FL, don't.

One of the most important aspects of a FL is that it's material you've never seen before. It forces you to quickly analyze an unknown passage, tap into your knowledge, and answer questions you've never seen. If you knew exactly what was going to be on the test, it would take away from the somewhat frantic experience of getting that weird passage. It also makes you more relaxed overall because you know what's coming. Unfortunately, you will not have the luxury of either on the test. You will have to deal with weird passages. You will have to get out of your comfort zone of knowing what's ahead.