Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Bit confused

Discussion in 'Postbaccalaureate Programs' started by JSainte, Apr 10, 2007.

1. JSainte

Pre-Medical
    Hello all,

Okay, I'm a current undergrad student at DePaul University. I'm majoring in Public Communication. I realized a bit late in the game that medicine was my passion. I decided that I would continue on and get my BA, then worry about med school. Also, I haven't had the greatest GPA recently, as I was working full time and having other issues as well. It's no excuse, and it is definately not going to help me. :oops:

I recently started looking into post-bacc programs to raise my GPA, but I feel I may need two years instead of just 1 to raise it to a level I'd be comfortable applying to med school with.

Am I correct having read that post-bacc's raise your undergrad GPA (assuming you do well, of course) but SMP's do not?

Essentially I'm looking for something that will raise my GPA, take care of my pre-reqs, but not be geared towards just people with a science background.

Is there possibly anyone who could offer some advice, or suggest some programs that may suit me? So far I'm looking at Dominican University's pre-med post-bacc program and also Uni of Chicago's Graduate Student-at-Large program.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. ssquared

ssquared Member

Other Health Professions Student
    I have not heard of either of the programs that you cite, but it would be much more helpful if you could tell us if you've taken the pre-reqs for med school and whether or not you've taken the MCAT. What programs are available to you are majorly dependent upon those two factors.

4. JSainte

Pre-Medical