Confused International Student: Post Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IntStuAus

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I have spent the whole day reading old treads and still currently confused due to my unique situation. So, I would like to open a thread to begin a discussion about my current situation.

I am a recent graduate from Australia, complete Bachelors of Biomedical Sciences. I just recently got accepted for my green card to the US. So, I am moving over to be closer to family. I have submitted my transcripts for evaluation (WES) and still awaiting for a result. It is however expected that my GPA, when transferred to US grading scale, would be 3.0. Apparently, there is no in-between, so I either get 2.0 or 3.0 or 4.0.

I have completed various lower and upper level sciences courses which includes Biology, Chemistry, Human Anatomy & Physiology, Microbiology, Genetics, Biochemistry, Pathophysiology & Pharmacology and Psychology. However, given the fact that I have an international baccalaureate credits, I may only satisfy few of the prerequisites. Hence, I need to repeat all/some of the core subjects required for medical school admissions.

I have been extremely involved in various clubs and organisations back in my university. Been the President of my faculty association. Done a lot of volunteering (non-health or non-medical related). Also volunteered in a health clinic overseas for 3 weeks for 5hrs/day in a 3rd world country. Whist studying, I have been working part-time as well. All my science subject include Lab work which is 3-4 hours per fortnight and some 3-4 hours a week. I however haven't shadowed a doctor or volunteer in a medical setting due to strict regulations in Australia.