CA pharmacist license reciprocity ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

paradise0109

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm currently a licensed pharmacist in another state and want to obtain a license in CA. I did not request score transfer before taking the NAPLEX last year. Anyone knows if CA allows license reciprocate? Do I need to re-take the NAPLEX again?

Thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.

Anyone's in the same boat as I am? I looked on CA website and it says "CA does not allow reciprocity" Does it mean that we need to re-take NAPLEX again if did not request score transfer before taking the NAPLEX???

Please help if anyone knows about this!! I'm trying to get my license in CA, and BOP wouldn't answer any question.

No, you do not need to retake the NAPLEX if you took it in 2004 or later. Although, it may cost you about as much as the NAPLEX exam to get your score sent to the CA Board of Pharmacy (depending on the state you are transferring from, mine was $300). Visit the NABP web site: http://www.nabp.net/programs/licensure/licensure-transfer/index.php and apply for a licensure transfer.

You will still need to submit the individual CA application materials along with the licensure transfer documents (and take the CPJE) to become licensed. However, you will not need to retake the NAPLEX. I just transferred from out of state this year into California so let me know if you have any questions about the process! Good luck!

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)