Calculus a pre-req for CHEM II???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedicineMike

MS4
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a post-bacc/non-degree seeking student trying to complete my science pre-reqs for med school. I finished CHEM I this summer and got an A. I signed up for CHEM II for this fall (along with phys I and bio I). My professor emailed me and told me that I need to take calculus before I take chem II because it is a pre-req. Has anyone else had this problem??? Also, I will most likely be applying DO (low gpa from previous undergrad degree) in which case, math isnt even counted in my pre-req gpa! Seems like a big waste to me...

I thought that since I was a non-degree seeking student, I could take any course I needed. Also, would the following semester be too much to handle??:

PHYS I
BIOL I
CHEM II
CALC I

what about if i only took 3 of the 4? Please let me know.

Also, I am a fulltime student (24yrs old) and am not working.

Thanks,
Mike

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Mike,

I like your "chosen" specialty. Anyway, the only "problem" this could pose is that your school may simply require you to take Calc before Gen Chem II. What I mean to say is that Chem II does NOT require calculus. At least, I didn't use calc for Gen Chem II. We calculated a few half lives, worked some equations, played with Logs (but really not hard at all) etc. Slopes and y-intercepts for a few lab experiments but really, calc is not a pre req per se for GC II.

Having said that, you can attempt to talk to your prof, talk about your background and see where that gets you.

Only you can determine your courseload; that is, though, a lotta work what you have lined up there. I don't want to say don't do it, not knowing your work ethic and/or study habits, personal situation, but that's a lotta work.
You only get one more second chance at this if you know what I mean, so, choose wisely.