Can anyone here comment on what the job market for hospitalists in Southern California is like right now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sarcoid_Sorcerer

Reaction score
Hello,

I’m a current PGY-2 resident in internal medicine at a mid-tier academic program in the Midwest. I’m originally from Southern California and my family all lives there, but I went to med school and residency in the Midwest.

For the last 3-4 years I was certain that I’d pursue fellowship training in pulmonary and critical care which I absolutely love, but recently I’ve had a change of heart and think I may instead rather be a hospitalist. Basically I’m tire of putting my life on hold while I do all of this training and I don’t love the idea of still living outside of California while I pursue three more years of fellowship after I graduate IM residency in 2024.

With this in mind, I’ve been exploring the possibility of returning to LA and being a hospitalist. Can someone who is familiar with the job market there speak a little bit about what it’s like right now for hospitalists searching for work in Southern California? How saturated is the market, how are the compensations (by California standards, I know everyone is gonna comment on the high cost of living there, but it’s home to me).