Can I apply for Medicaid as a medical student?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

msavvy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I think there's something that I'm not understand here because I would think more medical students would talk about/qualify for Medicaid. I'm fairly young, so I've only been up to date with US healthcare post-Obamacare Medicaid expansion (this is where my ignorance may come from).

Currently, I am under 26 years old with Medicaid through my family (parents' income + dependents were eligible). I was considering applying for Medicaid when I get to medical school because I thought that as a student, my income would be $0 -- so wouldn't I qualify?

Why isn't EVERY medical student eligible for Medicaid? Did they choose to buy the school's health plan for other reasons? I guess I'm just confused about the entire thing because it seems so clear in my situation to apply for Medicaid?

Also one more thing, do med school scholarships count as income? I read some documents saying that "scholarships" do count, but I don't believe it would if the scholarship was not taxable. I assume that med school scholarships are not taxable...

Members don't see this ad.

Easy. They count your loans as "unearned income", which makes you automatically ineligible.

I went through this in undergrad.

I know medical students on Medicaid.

Members don't see this ad :)
Pretty sure all medical schools require you carry private insurance. They offer a plan you can pay for, or you can be covered by your parents private insurance.

I don't think Medicaid qualifies, so they'll just tax an extra 2-3k on tuition every year for insurnace

Your med school will also have minimum requirements for how much insurance you are required to carry which may be more than what is offered through Medicaid.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 1 users
If loans were considered income, then they would be taxed