Can I get some advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DaGus

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off, let me say hello to everyone. I am new to SDN.

I was hoping to get some advice from anyone who will help me. Here's my situation:

I graduated in 2005 from a good private school with a degree in biology and french. My gpa there was a 3.2, which is the average undergrad GPA for the college. My science GPA was about the same, 3.2. Since graduation, I have taken about 20 hours of science courses at my state school, and have received A's in every class but Physics B (C+).

As a Kentucky resident, I have applied twice to Auburn. The first year I got rejected, and during post interviews, I was told that I should take more science courses (which I have done) and get more small animal experience (I have since worked nearly full-time at a small animal clinic, 1 yr experience). It seemed like, if I did those things, I would get in for sure. Except this year I got another rejection, not even on the alternate list.

Now I am at a bit of a crossroads. Auburn will give me another post-interview, but not until late June (at which time, my options are limited: too late for summer classes, my lease will have to be renewed if I am to stay in KY). So, here is what I am thinking.

1) My boyfriend is a Missouri resident. He has been accepted and may go to Mizzou med school. If I could get Missouri residency, my options open up a bit. For instance, they have a PreVet scholars program, which I am going to inquire about. Basically, it allows MU freshman the chance to apply for guaranteed acceptance into vet school. I am going to ask this: if I get Missouri residency, enroll at MU and take a few pre-req classes, could I be admitted to the pre-vet scholars program? Even if not, would Missouri residency make it easier than it currently is to go to Auburn?