Can I get your opinion?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rEliseMe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a rising undergraduate senior, so it's time to really nail down where I'll be applying in the fall. My interests are in cochlear implants and otoacoustic emissions (among other things), but my long-term goal is research and/or teaching. However, I would like a clinical education as well, so I'm looking mainly at programs that have both a PhD and an AuD. Ideally, they would be integrated so that courses can have cross-application.

I have to say that the University of Iowa is my dream school right now. I have read a lot of Dr Christopher Turner's research on hybrid implants and am fascinated by that topic area. When I visited, I got a chance to meet Dr Shawn Goodman's students and really enjoyed discussing their projects. The UIowa program also stresses research, which for me is a great thing, and their AuD/PhD program is an integrated 7-year program. The only downfalls for me are cost (I'm an out-of-state student and they can't predict how much funding they will have) and difficulty of getting in. (I feel confident that I can handle the difficulty of the curriculum.)

My first GRE scores were 550V, 710Q, and a 5.0 on the AWA. Mean scores for accepted applicants in 2009 were 550V, 650Q, and 4.0AWA.

My GPA probably won't be any higher than 3.5, because of an 18-month period where arachnophobia ruled (ruined) my life. In major-related classes, I'd say I have closer to a 3.7 or higher. In any case, my GPA is not representative of the kind of learner I am.

I spend my weekends reading research articles, and I feel I've learned much more than my peers at this stage of the game. I plan to conduct a small research study with an undergraduate grant this fall, and hopefully present it either at the ISHA meeting or the AAS meeting next year.

So, three-fold question: