Can you do a global rotation in a country where DO practice rights aren't recognized?

Davisite201491

5+ Year Member
Nov 2, 2014
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Currently OMS-II. I've had great interest in doing global medicine, and am quite familiar with the International Practice Rights for DOs list on Wikipedia (Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine - Wikipedia)

For the longest time I've wanted to do a global rotation over in Taiwan as a 4th year elective and also entertained the idea of practicing in Taiwan at a later time (after doing a residency in the USA), but as you can see, it says that the DO degree is no longer recognized in Taiwan :( It's strange because DOs had full practice rights in Taiwan previously. Being Wikipedia and all I might have to be a little skeptical of who made the edit, but if it's true, it's a real bummer.

Question is - would I still be able to do a rotation over there, even though my degree isn't recognized? Has anyone else done a rotation in a country where American DO degrees aren't officially recognized?
Thanks.

FutureDoctor5000

2+ Year Member
Jan 5, 2018
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I can’t seem to find anything anywhere that says DO’s don’t have practice rights in Taiwan..

nooneyouknow

2+ Year Member
Dec 21, 2017
Currently OMS-II. I've had great interest in doing global medicine, and am quite familiar with the International Practice Rights for DOs list on Wikipedia (Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine - Wikipedia)

For the longest time I've wanted to do a global rotation over in Taiwan as a 4th year elective and also entertained the idea of practicing in Taiwan at a later time (after doing a residency in the USA), but as you can see, it says that the DO degree is no longer recognized in Taiwan :( It's strange because DOs had full practice rights in Taiwan previously. Being Wikipedia and all I might have to be a little skeptical of who made the edit, but if it's true, it's a real bummer.