can you help me to choose a university in audiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kurian

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi guys....I am planning to take the clinical certification along with the PHD.
But i wanted to do a clinical sertifcation along with it so that i will have a back up if i dont get a job. i would request you if you can help me to choose a university to pursue my studies.my priorities are.

1.short time( because i have already spent time 2 .5 years for my masters),
2.more funidng(since i am an international student, its very expensive for me to survive in usa for 5 years with out funding and taking loans)
3. ranking of the program and location( university should be descent enough so that i can get a job later. If i spent 4 years of time, i should be woth of it)

I have applied to couple of universities. I just wanted your advice on this ...

1. University of Arizona, Tucson

Program applied - Doctor of Audiology (Au.D.)

Admssion Accepted – got 12,637 dollars scholarship.
This will cover their 3/4rth of the fess . but I have to take care of remaining money and living expense.The program is Highly reputable .The program is really heactic with 17 crdit hour in a semester and comprehensive exam every year.

Cons.- aud + Phd will take 6 to 7 years to complete. They don’t have a option of phd and taking a clinical certification along with it.

2. Wichita State University
Program applying for - Phd in communication sciences and disorders

got admission with full funding, they told me i can finsh my phd in 3 years and the clinical certification part in 1.5 years.

3. Texas Tech University Health Science Center

Program Applied – a dual program
AUD / Phd in Communication Sciences and Disorders

will take 4+2 = 6years to complete
Funding provided and a half time TA during the first semester and based on my performance they will give full time TA