Canadian applicant with below average stats - need some help!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sigg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a Canadian applicant applying to American schools for the first time.

My cGPA is a 3.4 with a strong upward trend (first 2 years were poor, last 2 years were good). My science GPA is probably around the same. I am doing a 5th year of undergraduate studies next year in Canada to raise my marks.

My MCAT is a 31 (but I am studying to do a rewrite in July). (I also have 2 lower MCAT scores on record).

I do have considerable involvement in extra-curricular and leadership activities at my school's community, as well as employment-wise.

Here is my question: Do I stand a chance at the middle/low tier allopathic schools in the US? In particular:
-RFUMS
-OUWB
-Wayne State
-NYMC
-anything else? (Let me know)

I've read on the admissions websites of some of these schools that the minimum GPA they consider is 3.0. However, I'm reading the allopathic school specific threads, and people are posting with 3.8s, and only getting waitlisted. I'm wondering realistically then what my chances really are...

On MSAR, I see 3.4 as being listed in the "10th" percentile of what is accepted. So given that I'm a Canadian applicant, are my chances then incredibly slim?? I understand schools like Wayne state treat Canadians the same as OOS...but even as an OOS applicant, your stats must have to be greater than average, don't they?

Another reason I'm asking is because I haven't taken a full-year of English...and may choose to do that right now in the summer. But I'm just not sure if it's worth it, if my chances aren't very good to begin with.

Any help/information would be super appreciated. Thanks guys!

(Also, if anyone has more schools they could suggest I apply to, please let me know)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,