Canadian looking to study in Australia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seemomstudy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am interested in studying medicine in Australia or New Zealand. I am currently in my second year so I have some time but I want to be prepared when the time comes to decide which schools I will be applying to. I have two main questions...

1. What are the general prerequisites for applying to Australian/New Zealand med programs? (i.e. 1 year org. chem)

2. Do any universities offer any child care/family services and do any offer subsidized child care for international students?

Also if I were to study overseas I would like to stay in my country of study. Does anyone have any experience with the immigration process in either Australia or New Zealand?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

The boards are literally overloaded with questions like this...

1. with the exception of Melbourne, I don't think any schools have a pre reqs. Melbourne requires anatomy, biochemistry AND physiology and they are strict about it. You have to have an MCAT for all and almost all require 8/8/M/8 minimum with some schools allowing a 7 in ONE section only provided the overall score is 24M+

2. I don't know

3. the residency situation it tricky. some schools will pull your offer if you get residency before starting. some schools will allow you to transfer over to a subsidized place from an international place. check medinoz.com for more info

no subsidized childcare ( why would any government subsidized the child care fees of the person from ANOTHER country, if u think about it.) Plenty of paid childcare services around though.