Canadian Students-Financial Aid

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EyeCU09

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Canadian student and I'm looking for loan options that are available to us in order to study in the States. I have looked in Provincial , federal loans as well as bank loans and even if I get accepted for both, there is still a lot of outstanding tuition fees that won't be covered.

I just wanted more information from any current or already graduated Canadian students out there about how they managed to pay their educational expenses + living expenses because we are looking at more than $250,000 (Canadian Dollars) for four years.

Any help would be appreciated =)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
you may have to ask your parents to co-sign for a loan

Members don't see this ad :)
Our lives suck... I wish Canada had more optometry schools :( I'm totally in the same position as you except I'm still just finishing my 2nd year undergrad. With the current exchange rate... I hope the Canadian dollar rises soon and stays up.

I am not Canadian but international students also. I have researched a few private loans. It look like all private loans required you to have a cosign who is US citizen.

Hey guys im also a Canadian student starting at NOVA in fall Of this year. So I had these concerns as well regarding financoal aid and loans and here is what I came up (for us there isn't a lot of options)