Canadian/US dual citizen 3.87 GPA/513

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Home_Run_Ball

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone on SDN! I am currently in my 4th year a Canadian university however I do hold both a Canadian and US citizenship. I have currently submitted my apps for Canada this cycle and received my MCAT score back today, while I am ecstatic about my results I believe that because of my score on verbal it will severely affect my chances in Canada and that is why I want to prepare early to apply to US for the upcoming cycle!

I have written the MCAT 3 times, and my results are as follows 11/9/11(overall 83rd percentile) --> 12/8/10 (overall 78th percentile) --> 129/126/130/128 (overall 89th percentile).

My GPA is as follows:
1st year 3.8
2nd year 3.8
3rd year 4.0
4th year I am hopeful that I can hit 4.0 again so that I will be applying with a 3.9 GPA.

ECs/Awards/Accomplishments:
-Surgical Department Co-op student (high school) - 300 hours
-Hospital Health Records volunteer - 88 hours
-Emergency Department volunteer - 250 hours (on-going)
-Part time tutor
-Dragon Boat athlete for my University (4 years) - attended national events
-Head Coach of off-season training for my Dragon Boat team - 2 years
-Intramural Soccer player-4 years
-Summer Research Assistant at a Chemistry lab studying a specific Cancer cell receptor
-Summer community league Coach
-Powerlifter-2 years (put in minimum 10 hours/week training)
-Entrance Scholarship recipient $10,000
-Research Grant for Undergraduate Students recipient $6400
-Dean's Honour list-every year
-Canadian Nationals Dragon Boat U24 Silver medalist
-Haven't shadowed a physician but my neighbour is a resident at a local hospital and he is able to get me in contact with a an Orthopaedic Surgeon that I can shadow.